The solar system | Earth in space | Middle school Earth and space science | Khan Academy

Our solar system formed from a nebula about 4.6 billion years ago. It consists of the sun, four inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars), the asteroid belt, four outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune), and the Oort cloud.

Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. We offer quizzes, questions, instructional videos, and articles on a range of academic subjects, including math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, preschool learning, and more. We provide teachers with tools and data so they can help their students develop the skills, habits, and mindsets for success in school and beyond. Khan Academy has been translated into dozens of languages, and 15 million people around the globe learn on Khan Academy every month. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, we would love your help!

Donate or volunteer today! Donate here:

Volunteer here: